As much as possible, BCARS will host meetings in person, while also allowing for remote video conferencing. We are using the Jitsi video conferencing application. There is a link to our conference room below. Jitsi works best with Google Chrome. If connecting from a phone or tablet, install Jitsi App for either iPhone or Android.

BCARS has migrated to groups.io – sign  up at https://bcars.groups.io/ . This new setup hosts our calendar reminders, photos, and documents.

Jitsi for video conference:

The Bedford County Amateur Radio Society was formed in 1959 in order to promote the use of amateur radio within the community and to support Bedford County with public and emergency communications.  Anyone with an interest in Amateur Radio is welcome to join us.  We meet on the first Thursday of each month at the Bedford American Legion Post 113, 3721 Business 220 Bedford Twp PA 15522. Meeting time is 7:30pm.

Throughout the years, BCARS has maintained a close relationship with Bedford County Emergency Operations, providing communications as needed in disaster situations, as well as assisting with communications at county events. As such, the club has maintained its presence with first the Court House, then the county 911 center, and ultimately moving with the 911 back into the renovated and expanded county court house. Learn more about our history on our history page.


Membership Meeting

  • 7:30 PM, First Thursday of every month
  • Takes place at the Bedford American Legion Post 113, 3721 Business 220 Bedford Twp PA 15522.
  • Third floor conference room. We meet by the second story parking garage exit.

Weekly Nets take place every Tuesday nigh at 2000 local time. See our Activities page for more information about our repeaters and weekly nets.

Mailing Address:

PO Box 6
Manns Choice, PA 15550


Please contact [email protected] if you need a way to get in touch with officers directly. Or the webmaster, [email protected]

General correspondence: [email protected].
Sign up for our BCARS Email Mailing List and Calendar

Club Documents:

Club Officers:

  • President 2023-2024: Zach Pepple, KC3KHK
  • Vice President 2023-2024: Gary Metivier, KC3HKZ
  • Treasurer 2023-2024: Steve Stiffler, KC3DNB
  • Secretary 2022-2023: John Hogenmiller, KB3DFZ
  • Activities Manager 2022-2023: Stephen Wurm, KE3ZT
  • 1 Year Trustee 2023: Lloyd Roach, K3QNT
  • 2 Year Trustee 2023-2024: Bill Grover, N3EYF
  • 5 Year Trustee 2023-2027: Kip Kostenbauder, N2XRE received

Training and VE Coordinator: